Hello Friends, suppose you are working on some projects. During this period you created a lot of files on your workstation/laptop. Now, after completion of your project it is really not necessary to keep those all files/folders in your machine. So you delete those all stuff from your computer which is no longer required. Deleting stuff, which is not required, will free up your disk space. This is a good practice if you can manage to perform this task in a regular interval. Once you remove that stuff, you can get back sufficient amount of space in your disk depends upon the size of deleted stuff. Deletion of files/folders means moving stuff to the recycle bin.
Microsoft has given one GPO setting through which deleted files/folders will not reach to the recycle bin and delete permanently. Group Policy is there but in ideal scenario we don’t get it applied. Because sometimes there is a possibility deletion of files/folders by mistake. And if it happens then we can recover from recycle bin rather than restore from backup which increases call/mail flow unnecessary. Once enabling this setting then after deleting files/folders or any kind of data will vanish forever from the machine .
Do Not Move Deleted Files To The Recycle Bin
Please follow steps as mentioned below through GPO.
First of all, open Group Policy Management Console and create a new Group Policy or freshers can follow link How To Open Group Policy Management Console. Now Group Policy Editor is ready to use.
First of all, create a Group Policy. Right click on this GPO, select “Edit” option displaying on it and go to the below path:
User Configuration –> Policies –> Administrative Templates –> Windows Components–> File Explorer.
Once click on File Explorer then on right pane of the window, search for “Do not move deleted files to the recycle bin” policy. Double click on this policy settings and click on “Enable” radio button.
Once you enable this GPO setting then after deleting files/folder/other data will not be sent to recycle bin. It will delete permanently. Therefore, enable this policy if really you need it.
Now, click on OK button to come out of the setting.
Ask user to run “gpupdate /force” command. Then logoff and login back. Now to test this, create a test file and delete it. Thereafter check in recycle bin. You won’t find it there as already deleted permanently.
Thanks for choosing GPOEdit website (https://www.gpoedit.com) to find out your solutions.
- Display Confirmation Message Before Delete File
- How To Configure Fine Grained Password Policy
- Make Domain User As Local Administrator In Computers
- Do Not Play Animation In Web Page
- Disable Connections Tab From Internet Explorer Options